Skip to content
Home » How To explain Chakra in Yoga for kids ?

How To explain Chakra in Yoga for kids ?

a kid doing chakra pose

Chakra might sound like a complex topic, especially when thinking about explaining it to children. However, with a simple approach and the right words, it becomes an exciting concept for kids to grasp. Let’s explore a straightforward way to describe Chakra in Yoga for our young ones.

a kid doing chakra pose

What is Chakra?

Chakra, in basic terms, means a wheel or a circle. In the context of yoga, Chakras are like invisible energy centers within our body. Imagine them as glowing wheels of light that spin and keep our emotions, thoughts, and physical health in balance.

Use Everyday Examples

One effective method to explain Chakras to kids is by using examples from their daily life. For instance, you can say, “You know how when you spin a top, it goes round and round smoothly? Chakras are like those tops, but inside us. They help us feel good and balanced.”

Colors and Chakras

Kids love colors! Talk about the seven primary Chakras, each associated with a different color. From the base of the spine to the top of the head, they are:

  • Root Chakra – Red
  • Sacral Chakra – Orange
  • Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow
  • Heart Chakra – Green
  • Throat Chakra – Blue
  • Third Eye Chakra – Indigo
  • Crown Chakra – Violet

Relating Chakras to Feelings

Children understand feelings. You can associate each Chakra with a feeling or emotion. For instance, when they feel confident, their Solar Plexus Chakra, which is yellow, shines bright. Or when they feel love, their Heart Chakra, which is green, glows.


Explaining the concept of Chakra in yoga to kids doesn’t have to be complicated. Using everyday examples, colors, and relating them to feelings can make the topic both fun and relatable. With this approach, your child will soon get a grasp of this vital yoga energy system.